Botchan Cover

Botchan (っちゃん) by Natsume Sōseki (夏目なつめ漱石そうせき)     1906

The most famous and widely read of Sōseki's works, this novel begins by illustrating Botchan's rash and reckless nature through anecdotes from his childhood and early schooling. The story then shifts into a hilarious account of his ill-fated first job, a teaching assignment far from Tokyo in "barbaric" small-town Shikoku.

← click on cover for Botchan contents page

Sanshiro Cover

Sanshirō (三四郎さんしろう) by Natsume Sōseki (夏目なつめ漱石そうせき)      1908

The charming story of Sanshirō, a young man who arrives from the country to study at the University of Tokyo. Passive by nature and just beginning to explore life's possibilities, Sanshirō cautiously samples the offerings of his new environment: the big city, elite academia, and captivating young ladies.

← click on cover for Sanshirō contents page

Kokoro Cover

Kokoro (こゝろこころ) by Natsume Sōseki (夏目なつめ漱石そうせき)     1914

A young student forms a friendship with an enigmatic older man, whom he refers to as 'Sensei.' Over time, and finally through a long confessional letter, the younger man comes to know of Sensei's past and to understand the reasons behind his eccentric demeanor.

← click on cover for Kokoro contents page

Neko Cover

I am a Cat (吾輩わがはいねこである) by Natsume Sōseki (夏目 なつめ漱石そうせき)     1905

← {coming in late 2017}

Shorter Works Cover

A selection of Sōseki's shorter works

Ten Nights of Dreams (夢十夜)  /  Bunchō (文鳥)  /  The Tower of London (倫敦塔)

← click on image for listing